





FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Amy Lampe, Publicist

Date: May 24, 2012

Email: alampe@babson.edu Phone: 781-239-4550

NEIBA ANNOUNCES 2012 DII and DIII ALL-STAR GAME SELECTIONS AND SPECIAL RECOGNITION AWARD WINNERS

BABSON PARK, Mass. – The New England Intercollegiate Baseball Association (NEIBA) has announced that the 38th Annual NEIBA All-Star Game will take place on Monday, June 4, 2012 at LeLacheur Park in Lowell, Massachusetts at 7pm. LeLacheur Park is home of the Lowell Spinners, a minor league team affiliated with the Boston Red Sox. The gate will open at 6pm and tickets will cost \$5. For directions and other information, please visit the official website of the Lowell Spinners at http://web.minorleaguebaseball.com/index.jsp?sid=t558.

Division I players from across the region will make up the University Division Team. These selections will be released early next week.

The College Division Team is made up of 12 Division II standouts and 16 Division III senior all-stars. Franklin Pierce will be represented by four players – the most selections by any school – including ABCA East Region Player of the Year, Zach Mathieu. Southern New Hampshire University has three selections, a sophomore trio made up of shortstop Matt Boulter and pitchers Tim Flight and Alex Powers. The Penmen are currently in Carey, North Carolina where they will participate in the Division II College World Series this week after winning the NCAA East Regional last weekend. The Division III group features seniors from the top teams in New England, including NEIBA Pitcher of the Year Tyler Erickson from Castleton State University. Keene State College has three players participating – the most of any Division III school – led by NEIBA All-New England First Team selection Kyle Morrill. Wheaton College senior pitcher David Longley was also selected after his team won the 2012 NCAA New England Regional Tournament last weekend. The Lyons will compete in the Division III College World Series this week in Appleton, Wisconsin.

Prior to the start of the All-Star Game, NEIBA will recognize some outstanding contributors to New England collegiate baseball. Each year the Jack Butterfield Award is presented to an active New England coach who exhibits integrity and dedication to the game of college baseball that Coach Butterfield demonstrated throughout his career. This year's recipient is **Tim Shea**, the current head coach at Southern Connecticut State University. Shea has coached at Southern Connecticut for over 20 years and has amassed an overall record of 342-196-2 and guided his team to five NCAA Tournament appearances, including two trips to the College World Series. He has coached 70 All-Conference athletes, 23 All-Region players and six All-Americans.

The Kevin Burr Assistant Coach Award is presented each year to an active New England assistant coach who exhibits the integrity and dedication to the game of college baseball that Coach Burr demonstrated throughout his career. **Brian Lambert** of Brandeis University is this year's recipient. Lambert, an alumnus of Brandeis, just completed his 13th season as an assistant with the baseball program. During his time at Brandeis, the Judges have been a part of four University Athletic Association titles while making eight post-season tournament appearances, including three trips to the NCAA tournament. The team has also earned six ECAC Tournament berths, winning the championship in 2003.

Bob Corradi of Massachusetts Maritime Academy has been selected as the recipient of the Andy Baylock Distinguished Service Award. This award is given each year to a person who has significantly contributed to the betterment of New England College Baseball. Coach Corradi just completed his 40th season at the helm of the Buccaneers program. In 2009 Corradi became only the 29th active coach in NCAA Division III to reach the 500 victory milestone. He now boasts 536 wins. Corradi has been named MASCAC Conference Coach of the Year three times in his career while leading the Buccaneers to six post-season tournament appearances. In addition, he has been a long-time coach in both the Cape Cod Baseball League and American Legion Post 188. The Baylock award marks the second major NEIBA award for Corradi who also received the Jack Butterfield Award in 2005. NEIBA would like to recognize him for his continuing contributions to New England baseball.







2012 NEIBA ALL-STAR TEAMS

UNIVERSITY DIVISION TEAM

Division I All-Stars

To be released early next week.

COLLEGE DIVISION TEAM

Division II All-Stars

C – Matt Walsh, FR, Franklin Pierce

1B - Zach Mathieu, SO, Franklin Pierce

2B - James Katsiroubas, JR, UMass Lowell

3B – Cam Kneeland, SR, UMass Lowell

SS – Matt Boulter, JR, Southern New Hampshire

OF – James Roche, GR, Franklin Pierce

OF - Nick LaCroix, JR, Franklin Pierce

UT - Robert Kelly, JR, Saint Anselm

P – Tim Flight, JR, Southern New Hampshire

P - John Healy, SR, Saint Anselm

P – Rob Finneran, GR, Bentley

P – Alex Powers, SO, Southern New Hampshire

Division III Senior All-Stars

C - Mike Samela, SR, Amherst

1B – Kevin Mortimer, SR, Trinity

2B - Sean O'Hare, SR, Brandeis

3B - Dan Mello, SR, Endicott

SS – Sam Sager, SR, Tufts

OF – Kyle Morrill, SR, Keene State

OF - Jeff Scafidi, SR, Anna Maria

OF - Erik Bergstrom, SR, Keene State

OF - David Ricker, SR, Southern Maine

UT - Alex Chetelat, SR, Newbury

DH - Peter Burgio, SR, Keene State

P – Tyler Erickson, SR, Castleton State

P - Matt Kerr, SR, Salem State

P - David Longley, SR, Wheaton

P - Kory Kiro, SR, Daniel Webster

P – Corey Batista, SR, Bridgewater State